

History of the Smith-Wilson Award for Civil and Human Rights in Education





Lucy Harth Smith

Atwood S. Wilson

Established by the KEA Commission on Human Relations at the request of the KEA Delegate Assembly, the Lucy Harth Smith-Atwood S. Wilson Award for Civil and Human Rights in Education was presented for the first time in 1974, and has been continuously awarded every year since then.

The award is named for Mrs. Lucy Harth Smith (1888-1955), principal of Lexington's Booker T. Washington Elementary School for 20 years, and Atwood S. Wilson (1895-1967), principal of Louisville's Central High School for 29 years.

Mrs. Smith was a pioneer in promoting the study of Black history in the nation's schools, having been both state and national president of the Association for the Study of Negro Life and History. She was also president of the Kentucky and National Association of Colored Women. Mrs. Smith also served on the Governor's Committee on Youth and Children and on the executive board of the Kentucky Interracial Council.

Mr. Wilson was a longtime trustee of the Louisville Free Public Library and presented the resolution that abolished segregation of the races in Louisville's main library; later all city libraries were desegregated. He was among the first three African-Americans to receive the Boy Scouts of America Silver Beaver award for service to boyhood and was one of the first African Americans in the nation to be elected to Phi Delta Kappa educational fraternity.

Both Mrs. Smith and Mr. Wilson were prominent in education association activities. She was the only woman president of the Kentucky Negro Education Association (KNEA) as well as being a trustee of the American Teachers Association. For 20 years, Mr. Wilson was secretary-treasurer of the KNEA, and in 1957 was named by its successor organization, the Kentucky Teachers Association, as chairman of the merger committee to carry out the process of uniting KNEA with the Kentucky Education Association.

The Smith-Wilson Award is presented each year to a person or organization that has made notable contributions in any of the following areas: encouraging and supporting minorities to enter the teaching profession; advancing opportunities, especially educational opportunities, for youth of color; initiating or continuing impactful work in the areas of human and civil rights, or; leading in the field of innovative, creative, and equitable education for all students.



History of the Smith- Wilson Award for Civil and Human Rights in Education

Past Recipients of the Smith-Wilson Award

Dr. Whitney M. Young, Sr.	1974
Frank B. Simpson and Charles E. Whaley	1975
Lyman T. Johnson	1976
Ann Braden	1977
Galen Martin and C. G. Merritt	1978
Pallen Nubia Starks	1979
Ovetta Taylor Basey	1980
Ann Brewer Black	1981
Congressman Carl D. Perkins	1982
Mary Lois Smith	1983
YMCA Black Achievers and Dr. Raytha L. Yokley	1984
Richard H. Smith	1985
Marnel Moorman	1986
Oscar M. Cross	1987
Sylvia Bivins	1988
Frank Brown, Jr.	1989
Michael D. Lowery	1990
Joe Roach	1991
Lesley Acton	1992
Loraine Mathis	1993
J.C.T. A.	1994
Marnel C. Moorman	1995
Dr. Lyman T. Johnson	1996
Lucille Dunn Weathers	1997
*Ed Hamilton	1998
Thomas McKune	1999
Rev. Dr. Walter Malone	2000
Dr. William C. Parker	2001
Dr. Jacqueline Burnside	2002
Alma Randolph	2003
J. Maynard Thomas	2004
Barbara Baker	2005
Brenda Watson	2006
Marilyn Marshall Jones	2007



History of the Smith- Wilson Award for Civil and Human Rights in Education

Past Smith-Wilson winners, con't.

Olivia Burr	2008
James H. Bowles and Anthony Wilson	2009
Rosetta Lucas Quisenberry	2010
*Jerry Gore	2011
Fredricka Hargrove	2012
*Edward White	2013
Roszalyn Akins	2014
*Dr. George Moorman	2015
Judge Denise Clayton	2016
Pastor Anthony Walton	2017
Tytianna Wells Smith	2018
Stacey Bailey-Ndiaye	2019
Keith Cook (The Blue House)	2020
St. George's Scholar Institute	2021
Dr. Sharon Porter Robinson	2022
Dr. Aaron Thompson	2023

^{*}Denotes winner of NEA Human and Civil Rights Award