VOTING INFORMATION FOR 2019 DELEGATES

ALL ELECTRONIC VOTING WILL OCCUR IN THE ROSE ROOM

Delegates will elect the KEA President and KEA Vice President and, depending on the outcome of the vice presidential race, may need to elect an NEA Director to fill an unexpired term. Only those candidates who filed their written notice of intent by the constitutional deadline are eligible to be nominated. There are four candidates for president; four candidates for Vice President, one of whom is currently an NEA Director. Four members have announced their intent to run for the potential NEA Director vacancy, should that occur.

Candidates must be elected by a majority (50% + 1) of the valid votes cast. Per KEA Bylaw 3.5(c), in elections with more than two declared candidated, the candidate with the fewest number of voted will drop off the ballot after each round of voting. Delegates will also vote on three (3) proposed constitutional amendments. Constitutional amendments must be approved by a 2/3 vote (66.67% or more of the valid votes cast).

The KEA President and Vice President serve three (3) year terms, commencing June 15, 2019 and expiring June 14, 2022. The length of the unexpired NEA Director term will be announced if an election is required. The candidates for each office, in order of their declarations, are:

KEA President: Eddie Campbell

David Graves Randolph Wieck Jessica Dueñas

KEA Vice President: Jo McKim

Joel Wolford Mattie Morris Allison Slone

NEA Director (if necessary): Kirk Haynes

Laura Schneider Mary Wilson

Beverly Chester-Burton

(Nominations for this office will also be taken from the floor, if a vacancy occurs.)

ALL DELEGATES MUST BE PROPERLY REGISTERED, HAVE AN OFFICIAL BADGE AND BE PREPARED TO PRESENT PHOTO IDENTIFICATION IN ORDER TO VOTE. All electronic voting will occur in the ROSE room. Voting will occur using an online ballot accessed through a computer in the voting area. Registered delegates must sign in using your LAST NAME, the LAST FOUR digits of your social security number and the COUNTY where you work, from which you retired, or where you attend school. Once you sign in, please follow the directions on the screen to vote.

CAMPAIGNING ON THE FLOOR IS PROHIBITED

No campaigning is permitted on the floor of the Assembly. Campaign material cannot be distributed within 50 feet of the Assembly.

VOTING SCHEDULE FOR 2019 DELEGATE ASSEMBLY

ALL ELECTRONIC VOTING WILL OCCUR IN THE ROSE ROOM

Because of the number of candidates, we must plan on 4 rounds of voting. Voting for each office will continue until one candidate achieves a majority (50% plus 1) of the valid votes cast.

Round 1: Thursday morning, 9:00 to 10:00 a.m. Delegates who registered on Wednesday will vote electronically in the Rose Room. Delegates who register on Thursday morning will be given paper ballots. <u>All subsequent rounds of voting will occur electronically; after Round 1, no paper ballots will be available.</u>

Round 2: Thursday mid-day (specific time to be announced):

Round 3: Thursday evening upon recess of the Third Business Session (specific time to be announced).

Round 4: Friday morning from 8:00 to 9:00 a.m.

Except for Rounds 1 and 4, all voting times are approximate. Additional rounds of voting may be necessary on Friday.

Remember to vote with your district during your assigned 10 minute window. The specific time for each block will be announced. You can record your district's voting time here:

		Thursday morning	Thursday mid-day	Thursday evening	Friday morning
Block 1	KEA-R, KEA-SP, KCTEA	9:00 to 9:10			8:00 to 8:10
Block 2	KEA-CD, KESPA	9:10 to 9:20			8:10 to 8:20
Block 3	1 st , 2 nd , 3 rd Districts	9:20 to 9:30			8:20 to 8:30
Block 4	4 th , 5 th , NKEA	9:30 to 9:40			8:30 to 8:40
Block 5	MCEA, UKREA, UCEA, EKEA	9:40 to 9:50			8:40 to 8:50
Block 6	JCTA	9:50 to 10:00			8:50 to 9:00