MOVE COMMITTEE Annual Report to the KEA Delegate Assembly April 2019

The MOVE (Membership, Organizing, Visibility, and Engagement) Committee had another productive year. During the All Committee Weekend meeting, in September 2018, the committee members elected *Tyler Watts* (UKREA District) as the Chair. As required by the KEA Constitution, Article VI, B-6.2(b)(6), officers of this standing committee are elected annually.

Visibility: The Committee developed a new visibility piece to promote the KEA Teacher and ESP of the Year awards. This was printed and disseminated electronically to all KEA field offices.

The Committee also reserved the traveling NEA "#RedForEd School Bus cut out" as a way for delegates at the 2019 Delegate Assembly to promote the #RedForEd movement. The photo booth will be set up outside the convention hall for delegate use.

KEA Scholarships: The committee chose winners for the annual Marvin Dodson-Carl Perkins KEA Student Program Scholarship. The committee chose to award seven applicants' various amounts. Scholarship winners include: Dylan Howard, Kelley Sizemore, Sarah Forsythe, Kaitlyn Sullivan, Keely Moussette, Sarah Mayer and Haley Harrod.

#DifferenceMakers Student Art Contest: The #DifferenceMakers student art contest received many submissions from each of the age categories. Winners were chosen by the committee. Jaclyn and John Tyler and wife volunteered to help create the display for the Capitol Annex on Monday Jan. 28th. The winners were from Tayler Co Primary School, Elkhorn Elementary, LTMS, and Corbin High School. The display will run through Feb. 1, 2019. A video of the display should be taken and posted on the KEA Facebook page. Winners will be notified and presented with a prize of \$250 for the student and the same for their teacher. The #DifferenceMaker will receive the original art piece in a frame.

Respectfully submitted, The KEA MOVE Committee, 2018-2019

Shawn Barber, First

Melissa McBride, Second

Marissa Satram, Third

Shannon Cox, Fourth

Jacklyn Fink, Fifth

Dara'Su Stevens, EKEA

Andrew Bailey, JCTA

Becky Hudson-Brown, KEA-Retired

Karen Ellis, KESPA

Debra Waddell, MCEA

Teresa Messenger, NKEA

John Tyler Watts, UKREA

*Central District and UCEA committee members were not present at any meetings this year