### **VOTING INFORMATION FOR 2018 DELEGATES**

# ALL VOTING WILL OCCUR IN THE ROSE ROOM

Delegates will elect one NEA Director and two Ethnic Minority Directors at Large. Only those candidates who filed their written notice of intent by the constitutional deadline are eligible to be nominated. There are two candidates for NEA Director and only one candidate for each Ethnic Minority Director at Large seat.

Per the KEA Constitution, when there is only one candidate for an office, he or she may be elected by acclimation. In races where there are two or more declared candidates, the successful candidate must be elected by a majority (50% + 1) of the valid votes cast.

Delegates will also vote on one proposed constitutional amendment. Amendments must be approved by a 2/3 vote (66.67% or more of the valid votes cast.)

The NEA Director will be elected to a complete three year term, to begin on September 1, 2018 and to expire on August 31, 2021.

The Ethnic Minority Director at Large (Seat 1) will serve a three year term beginning July 1, 2018 and expiring June 30, 2021. The Ethnic Minority Director at Large (Seat 2) will take office immediately upon election and will complete an unexpired term ending June 30, 2020.

The candidates for each office, in order of their declarations, are:

**NEA Director:** Jo McKim

**Alvia Littleton** 

**Ethnic Minority Director at Large:** Regina Boone (Seat 1)

Noraa Ransey (Seat 2)

ALL DELEGATES MUST BE PROPERLY REGISTERED, HAVE AN OFFICIAL BADGE AND BE PREPARED TO PRESENT PHOTO IDENTIFICATION IN ORDER TO VOTE. All electronic voting will occur in the ROSE room. Voting will occur using an online ballot accessed through a computer in the voting area. Registered delegates must sign in using your LAST NAME, the LAST FOUR digits of your social security number and the COUNTY where you work, from which you retired, or where you attend school. Once you sign in, please follow the directions on the screen to vote.

### CAMPAIGNING ON THE FLOOR IS PROHIBITED

No campaigning is permitted on the floor of the Assembly. Campaign material cannot be distributed within 50 feet of the Assembly.

## **VOTING SCHEDULE FOR 2018 DELEGATE ASSEMBLY**

# ALL VOTING WILL OCCUR IN THE ROSE ROOM

Because there are only two declared candidates for the NEA Director position, only one round of voting will be necessary to determine the outcome of that election. That round of voting will occur after the Second Business Session on Thursday mid-day (specific time to be announced.)

In order to reduce crowding in the voting area, delegates will vote in 10 minute blocks on the schedule indicated below. The specific times for voting will be announced at the end of the Second Business Session on Thursday morning. Use the chart below to note your district's assigned time to vote.

<u>Remember to vote with your district during your assigned 10 minute window.</u> The specific time for each block will be announced. You can record your district's voting time here:

		Thursday mid-day
Block 1	KEA-R, KEA-SP, KCTEA	
Block 2	KEA-CD, KESPA	
Block 3	1 <sup>st</sup> , 2 <sup>nd</sup> , 3 <sup>rd</sup> Districts	
Block 4	4 <sup>th</sup> , 5 <sup>th</sup> , NKEA	
Block 5	MCEA, UKREA, UCEA, EKEA	
Block 6	JCTA	

Delegates may not wear candidate material into the voting area.

Per KEA Board policy, any delegate who does not comply with a CCC member's request to remove or cover candidate material will be prohibited from voting.