MOVE COMMITTEE Annual Report to the KEA Delegate Assembly April 2018

This is the first year of the newly renamed MOVE (*Membership, Organizing, Visibility, and Engagement*) Committee. During the fall All Committee Weekend meeting, in September 2017, the committee members elected **Tyler Watts** (UKREA District) as the Chair. *As required by the KEA Constitution, Article VI, B-6.2(b)(6),* officers of this standing committee are elected annually.

Membership: The committee analyzed NEO forms from 2016 for trends and common issues. Information was reported by district and was shared in each district.

The Committee developed a new PowToon video about NEA member benefits afforded to members. This video will be unveiled and promoted at the KEA DA.

Visibility: The Committee developed a card to publicize the new KEA App. This will be given to members to help them connect to their association.

A new way for members to submit story ideas for the KEA News has been created on the KEA website under the member's only section. Pictures and story information can be submitted anytime.

KEA Scholarships: The committee chose winners for the Marvin Dodson-Carl Perkins KEA Scholarship. The committee chose to award six \$1,000 scholarships. Then the Committee chose one winner of the KEA Retired Fred Hester Scholarship.

The Dodson-Perkins scholarship winners are: Caroline Meiners, Mallory Parks, Michael Weaver, Holly Moore, Marissa Millner-Satram and Morgan Goode.

The winner of the Fred Hester Scholarship is: Watez Phelps - \$1,000

KEA Membership Engagement: Committee members have worked to partner with local businesses which will offer discounts to KEA members. New window clings have been distributed to supporting businesses. Complete lists of local business that offer discounts are posted under the Members tab at *KEA.org and on the KEA App*.

Student Empowerment Art & Essay Contest: The 2017-2018 contest entries were chosen for display on the walls of the Capitol Annex Tunnel in Frankfort. The centerpiece of this year's display was a twenty-foot-long "I [heart] My Public School" made entirely of 3m Post-it Notes by committee chair Tyler Watts of Letcher County and UKREA.

Respectfully submitted, The KEA MOVE Committee, 2017-2018

Shawn Barber, First	Esther Fatsy, NKEA
Melissa McBride, Second	Sheila Baker, UCEA
Amy McLean, Third	Brook Bell, Student Program
Shannon Cox, Fourth	John Tyler Watts, UKREA
Jacklyn Fink, Fifth	
Ashley Watts, Central District	
Dara'Su Stevens, EKEA	
Andrew Bailey, JCTA	
Becky Hudson-Brown, KEA-Retired	
Karen Ellis, KESPA	

Debra Waddell, MCEA