DIVERSITY COMMITTEE Annual Report to the KEA Delegate Assembly April 2018

The Diversity Committee began its work this year with the customary review of the KEA constitutional and KEA President issued charges. In addition to the standing KEA constitutional charges, the KEA President charged the Committee with:

- Develop a plan of action to recruit minorities into the teaching profession. In the plan, gather and present to the 2018 Delegate Assembly statistics on the number of minority teachers in the Commonwealth and data on minority teacher candidates/ recruitment efforts around the state
- Discuss ways to support the Student Program Diversity Conference
- Analyze KEA board feedback on the 2017 NBI's related to social justice/diversity Explore ways to implement these 4 NBI's and also how they can be incorporated into the Smith/Wilson Diversity Breakfast. Complete a report to the KEA Board on how the association could most effectively address these four issues.
- Feedback to remove or replace a moment of silence to respect all faiths in the room.

The annual Lesson Plan Contest was promoted using flyers, regularly distributed in KEA President's Points emails, KEA news, and the KEA social media sites (Facebook and Twitter). This is the thirteenth year and a number of excellent lesson plans incorporating diversity were received. The committee diligently spent a significant amount of time scoring and identifying this year's winners. The four winners of \$200 each are: Lesson Plan winners:

- 1. Ryan Lewis "Do People Get to Choose Where They Live? -- Central District
- 2. Delena McGuire "Barrier Breakers NKEA
- 3. Nicole Servizzi "Love Conquers All" -- NKEA
- 4. Robin Tillman "Visual Arts and Collaboration" -- 5th District

This is the second year of the ESP Diversity Bulletin Board Contest and two winners of \$50 gift cards each: Deborah Winkler (NKEA) and Chiffon Winston (KESPA- Paducah) will be acknowledged at the Smith Wilson Breakfast.

The Committee finalized the plans of the annual Lucy Harth Smith – Atwood S. Wilson Award Breakfast scheduled the morning of Thursday, April 5, 2018 during the KEA Delegate Assembly.

This year's theme is: Diversity Through Diversity. Tytianna Wells Smith is the 2018 Smith-Wilson Award winner this year. She is an author and illustrator of children's books. She is the Founder of the Honey Tree Publishing LLC, which specializes in books aimed at multi-ethnic audiences.

"Drumming Works" will be conducting the Opening and Closing performed Joan Brannon. Special Guest Dr. Wil Parker in musical lead for the "National Anthem" and "Lift Every Voice". He will present an inspirational message which reflect the theme of the breakfast.

Respectfully submitted,

Diversity Committee Members:

Mattie Morris, First District
Alvia Littleton, Chair, Second District
Michelle Ewing, Third District
Jacquline Gibbons, Fourth District
Ruth Ann Sweazy, Fifth District
Joshua Kumm, JCTA
Ida Craft, KEA-Central District
Mary Beth Armstrong, EKEA

Angie Neat, MCEA Ryan Dittmer, NKEA Amanda Robinson, UCEA Julie Ussery, UKREA Shaquita Garrett, KESPA Cookie Henson, KEA-R Cameo Kendrick, KEA-SP