### Compliance With Minority Guarantees September 2016

The Constitution and Bylaws guarantee minority representation on the Board of Directors and Standing Committees. There are currently four (11%) minority members on the Board of Directors. Six minorities serve on the four Standing Committees with at least one minority on every committee.

The following tables indicate the history of minority involvement on the Board of Directors, at the KEA Delegate Assembly and the NEA Representative Assembly.

### **Minority KEA Board Members**

There has been minority representation on the KEA Board since 1969. Minority representation has been assured by provisions in the Constitution and Bylaws Since 1974.

ution and Bylaws S	
1969-72:	Joe Roach, representing the Louisville Education Assn.
1973-74:	Ovetta T. Basey, served as observer
	Luska J. Twyman, served as observer
1974-77:	Luska J. Twyman, elected minority representative
1974-78:	Sharon Robinson, elected minority representative
1974-78:	Ovetta T. Basey, representing Upper KY River Ed. Assn.
1977-79:	A. Frazier Curry, representing JCTA
1977-81:	Ann B. Black, elected minority representative
1978-82:	James Walker, elected minority representative
1979-84:	Jo Catherine Clark, representing JCTA
1981-86:	Marnel Moorman, elected minority representative
1982-88:	Anne Metcalf, elected minority representative
1984-87:	Nancy Demartra, representing JCTA
1985-91:	Sandy Harris, representing JCTA
1986-93:	Hallie Evans, elected minority representative
1987-87:	Doris Brown, elected minority rep to fill unexpired term
1987-90:	Joe Roach, representing JCTA
1988-94:	Herbert t. Owens, elected minority representative
1990-93:	Gwen Buffington, representing KEA-Central
1992-94:	Marnel Moorman, KEA President
1991-93:	Nancy Demartra, representing JCTA
1991-94:	Flo Smith Miller, representing JCTA
1993-96:	Gwen Buffington, elected minority representative
1993-96:	Nancy Demartra, representing JCTA
1994-97:	Hallie Evans, elected minority representative
1994-97:	Flo Smith Miller, representing JCTA
1996-99:	Elizabeth Caples, representing JCTA
1993-99:	Gwen Buffington, Ethnic Minority Director
1994-2000:	Robert Evans, representing JCTA (retired 1999)
1997-2000:	Bobby Atchley, representing JCTA
1997-1999:	Claudette Pettus, Ethnic Minority Director
1999-2006:	Teddy Taylor, Ethnic Minority Director
1999-2001:	Bobby Atchley, Ethnic Minority Director
1999-2002:	Donna McConnell, representing EKEA
1999-2001:	Denise Landry, representing JCTA
2001-2006	Denise Landry, Ethnic Minority Director
2002-2008:	Beverly Calloway, representing JCTA
2005-2009	Ron Moore, Ethnic Minority Director
2005-2007	Tioka Ivory, representing JCTA
2006-2009	Tai Doram, representing KEA-Central
2006-2010	Greg Ross, Ethnic Minority Director
2008-2011	J. Niki Ross, representing JCTA
2011-2014	Edith Yarbrough, Ethnic Minority Director
2011-	Alvia Littleton, Ethnic Minority Director
2012-2014	Candace Foster, representing JCTA
2014-	Beverly Chester Burton, representing JCTA
2014-2017	Lakilia Bedeau, Ethnic Minority Director
2017-	Noraa Ransey, Ethnic Minority Director
_•	

# KEA Executive Committee (Established 1974)

1977-81:	Ann Brewer Black
1978-82:	James Walker
1983-85:	Marnel Moorman
1985-88:	Anne Metcalf
1988-93:	Hallie Evans
1993-94:	Herbert T. Owens, Jr.
1994-99:	Gwen Buffington
1999-05	Teddy Taylor
2005-10	Ron Moore
2010-14	Edith Yarbrough
2014-	Alvia Littleton

## **KEA Officers**

1986-92: Marnel Moorman, Vice President 1992-94: Marnel Moorman, President

1994-96: Marnel Moorman, President (deceased October 1994)

### **KEA Delegates**

1988:	497 delegates; 57 ethnic minority delegates
1989:	520 delegates; 39 ethnic minority delegates
1990:	547 delegates; 42 ethnic minority delegates
1991:	537 delegates; 45 ethnic minority delegates
1992:	539 delegates; 51 ethnic minority delegates
1993:	484 delegates; 41 ethnic minority delegates
1994:	508 delegates; 42 ethnic minority delegates
1995:	489 delegates; 47 ethnic minority delegates
1996:	496 delegates; 46 ethnic minority delegates
1997:	493 delegates; 38 ethnic minority delegates
1998:	440 delegates; 28 ethnic minority delegates
1999:	399 delegates; 33 ethnic minority delegates
2000:	419 delegates; 35 ethnic minority delegates
2001:	459 delegates; 33 ethnic minority delegates
2002:	496 delegates; 43 ethnic minority delegates
2003:	453 delegates, 39 ethnic minority delegates
2004:	495 delegates, 38 ethnic minority delegates
2005:	469 delegates, 40 ethnic minority delegates
2006:	448 delegates; 35 ethnic minority delegates
2007:	559 delegates; 50 ethnic minority delegates
2008:	526 delegates; 59 ethnic minority delegates
2009:	519 delegates; 51 ethnic minority delegates
2010:	523 delegates; 54 ethnic minority delegates
2011:	521 delegates; 45 ethnic minority delegates
2012:	509 delegates; 58 ethnic minority delegates
2013:	563 delegates; 68 ethnic minority delegates
2014:	478 delegates; 68 ethnic minority delegates
2015:	490 delegates; 59 ethnic minority delegates
2016:	522 delegates; 73 ethnic minority delegates
2017:	425 delegates: 71 ethnic minority delegates

NEA Delegates	<u>2005</u>	<u>2006</u>	<u>2007</u>	<u>2008</u>	<u>2009</u>	<u>2010</u>	<u>2011</u>	<u>2012</u>	<u>2013</u>	<u>2014</u>	2015	<u>2016</u>	<u>2017</u>
<u>NEA Delegates</u> <u>Total</u> <u>Delegates</u>	118	109	120	125	120	118	111	103	103	99	110	105	109
<u>Total</u> <u>No. of State</u>	31	31	32	31	32	32	32	26	29	28	28	27	29
<u>Total Minority</u> <u>Delegates</u>	17	23	21	33	37	33	30	34	28	26	41	35	33
<u>Minorities Elected</u> <u>Statewide</u>	3	2	4	9	8	6	6	3	8	4	8	8	7
<u>Minorities Elected</u> <u>at District Level</u>	14	21	17	24	29	27	24	31	20	22	33	27	26