

COMPLIANCE/CONSTITUTION COMMITTEE Annual Report to the KEA Delegate Assembly April 2018

CCC officers for 2017-18: As required by the KEA Constitution, Article VI, B-6.2(b)(6), officers of this standing committee are elected annually. At its meeting in September 2017, the committee members elected Dave Strode, 3rd District, as Chair; and Veronica Russell, 2nd District, as Vice Chair.

Work of the CCC during 2017-18: Per the provisions of the KEA Constitution, the Compliance/Constitution Committee is charged with the following responsibilities:

- review the governance documents of the local and district associations for compliance with the KEA and NEA constitutions and bylaws;
- receive and process proposed amendments to the Constitution, Bylaws and Standing Rules;
- supervise the submission and processing of new business during the Delegate Assembly;
- issue advisory interpretations upon request on issues arising from the floor of the Delegate Assembly;
- perform other duties at the Delegate Assembly as specified in the Rules or requested by the President:
- supervise the accreditation of delegates and alternates to the Delegate Assembly and the seating of delegates and members;
- conduct elections at the Delegate Assembly, prepare and check ballots for accuracy, supervise the voting area, and act as judge and constable of the election;
- conduct the election of state delegates to the NEA Representative Assembly;
- develop all state election guidelines, report its recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval, and upon approval, implement the appropriate guidelines governing each state election; and
- monitor minority involvement in the Association and address compliance issues.

At various times throughout the year, the CCC performs all these duties. The CCC also occasionally receives specially assigned work that falls within its constitutional responsibilities.

Constitution review: This year, Bridget Brown working as the staff liaison to the CCC for these
purposes continued the process of reviewing local constitutions. NEA requires that all affiliate
constitutions be reviewed for compliance at least once every five years. The CCC reviews local
constitutions on a 5-year rotating schedule. During 17-18, the NKEA, 3rd District, and KESPA



Northern Region constitutions will be reviewed. Bridget presented the results of those reviews to the committee at their September meeting.

• Merged locals: Last year, on request by the President and the KEA Board of Directors, the CCC committee recommended a process to the KEA Board of Directors to merge Active locals. The KEA board of Directors adopted that process at its February 2017 meeting. Since the adoption of that policy, the CCC approved the following merger requests: Hopkins County Education Association with the Hopkins County Education Support Professionals; Anderson County Education Association and the Anderson County Education Support Professional Association; Union County Education Association and Union County ESP; Bowling Green Education Association and the Bowling Green Education Support Professional Association. Once the CCC approves merger requests, they are forwarded to the KEA Board of Directors for final approval.

Elections at the 2018 DA: The 2018 delegates will elect one NEA Director and two Ethnic-Minority Directors at Large.

Constitutional amendments: One constitutional amendment was timely submitted and will be on the ballot. (The full text of the proposed amendment can be viewed <u>here</u>.) Constitutional amendments must be approved by 2/3 of the delegates present and voting.

NEA RA statewide delegate elections: Election for NEA RA state delegates started on March 1 and continued through March 31, 2017. The results will be tabulated at the CCC luncheon on Wednesday, April 4, 2018 and will be posted at the Delegate Assembly. For the purpose of electing NEA RA statewide delegates, the state is divided into two regions, East and West. The East region includes EKEA, UKREA, UCEA, MCEA, Central and NKEA. The West region includes 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th Districts and JCTA. KESPA members vote in the region where they work. The number of statewide delegates is based on KEA membership as of January 15 each year. This year, KEA was allocated 29 delegates, one of which must be an administrator. Of the remaining 28 delegates, 13 will be elected from the East region, and 15 will be elected from the West region.

Elections at the 2019 delegate assembly: Next year, the delegates will elect the KEA President and KEA Vice President. Both officer terms run for three years beginning June 15, 2019 and ending June 14, 2022. All Active members in good standing are eligible to run for statewide office. Eligible KEA members who are interested in becoming candidates may announce no earlier than October 1, 2018 and no later than January 15, 2019. Candidates must declare their intent to run using the form available on the KEA website; no campaigning is allowed until the appropriate form is received by the Chair of the CCC or designee. Other elections could be held at the 2019 DA if vacancies occur.

The CCC will hold its last meeting of the year on Friday, April 6, 2018, upon adjournment of the DA.



Respectfully submitted,

Dave Strode, Chair, 3rd district

Veronica Russell, Vice Chair, 2nd district
Luke Inglish, 1st district
Elizabeth Mikowski, 4th district
Michael Sharp, 5th district
Cathy Hill, KEA Central District
Jennifer Gilligan, EKEA
Beverly Chester-Burton, JCTA
Phyllis Willis, KESPA
Linda Cox-Roberts, MCEA
Delana McGuire, NKEA
Shelia Baker, UCEA
Lisa Braswell, UKREA
Patti Hester, KEA Retired
Dylan Howard, KEA Student Program (alternate)