Uniting, Organizing, Empowering Members

Contact |

Members - Scholarships, Awards, Grants & Contests - Teacher of the Year Award

Application deadline is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 1, 2020.

Previous winners are not eligible to apply.

The KEA Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes, rewards, and promotes excellence in teaching and advocacy for the profession. It also honors public education and the dedicated members of the KEA. The winner receives $1000 and a commemorative apple and is announced at the KEA Delegate Assembly in Apri. The KEA Teacher of the Year is also submitted to NEA for consideration as the NEA Teacher of the Year.

The NEA Teacher of the Year award is presented jointly by The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education and the National Education Association, with additional support from Horace Mann Educators Corporation and I CAN Learn® Education Systems. 

Each year, five finalists receive The Horace Mann–NEA Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence, which include $10,000 cash and expenses-paid travel to The NEA Foundation’s annual Salute to Excellence in Education Gala in Washington, DC. (All state affiliate nominees receive The I CAN Learn®–NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence, which fund travel to the gala.)  One of the five finalists will receive The NEA Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence. This award includes an additional $25,000 in cash and a personalized commemorative gift.

Application must be submitted online and attachments must accompany the online application.  The application must consist of the following documents:  the DATA sheet; nomination letter from local president; resume; nominee’s statement; letters of endorsement; evidence of Association participation; and a high resolution headshot to be used for promotional purposes only.

Bookmark and Share  Print