There are many benefits of being a KEA member, including eligibility for scholarships, awards and grants sponsored by KEA, NEA and its partners.  Read on to see how KEA can help you grow in your profession and support you in your classroom or work site.   


Each year, KEA and its affiliates fund scholarships for Active teacher members, Active ESP members, and members of the KEA Aspiring Educators.  Available scholarships are listed below. 

KEA President's Scholarships - These scholarships are awarded annually to Active certified and ESP members in each KEA governance district.  Funds are available to support members seeking a rank change (to Rank II (Master's) or to Rank 1 (hours beyond Master's)), or for those seeking National Board certification.  Continuing education scholarships are also available to ESP members.  Deadline to apply is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 14, 2020.

Representative Paul Mason Memorial Scholarship - Active or Retired ESP members, their children or grandchildren are eligible to apply.  This scholarship is named after Rep. Mason, who used his time in the Kentucky House to champion the cause of those less fortunate.  The scholarship will be awarded annually at the KESPA pre-delegate caucus, which usually occurs in March.  Deadline to apply is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 14, 2020.

Marvin Dodson-Carl Perkins Scholarships -  These scholarships are given to members of the KEA Aspiring Educators who are enrolled in a teacher preparation program in Kentucky.  Applicaitons are submitted to the KEA MOVE Committee, which will detemine the winners. KEA will award a total of $6000; no single award will exceed $1000 or be less than $500.  Deadline to apply is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 14, 2020.

KEA Ethnic Minority Scholarships -  These progressive scholarships are awarded to ethnic-minority college students who are seeking a degree in Education at an accredited Kentucky college or university.  In addition to the monetary award, winners will be mentored by one of KEA's Ethnic Minority Directors.  The 2019-20 deadline has passed; no additional applications will be accepted. Please watch this page for 2020-21 scholarship opportunities.  

KEA-Retired/Tom Denton Memorial Scholarship: KEA-Retired invites eligible students to apply for the  KEA-Retired/Tom Denton Memorial Scholarship.  Named in honor of late educator Tom Denton, who served as KEA Vice President and later, as KEA-Retired President, the scholarship is funded by interested supporters of education. Students considered for scholarships shall be juniors, seniors, or MAT candidates in a Kentucky college for the following school year.  Preference will be given to students who are KEA Aspiring Educator members, plan to teach in Kentucky, have an outstanding academic record, show evidence of financial need, and have family members who are members of KEA or KEA-Retired.  The 2020 deadline has passed; no additional applications will be accepted. Please watch this page for 2021 scholarship opportunities.  

Marnel C. Moorman Sr. Memorial Scholarship: The Marnel C. Moorman Memorial Scholarship is given in memory of the first African-American to be elected President of the Kentucky Education Association.  Mr. Moorman was serving his 2nd term as president when he was killed in a car accident in 1994 while returning from a meeting with KEA members.  He believed deeply in diversity of the teaching profession and within the association.  The Past Presidents of KEA established this scholarship to preserve his memory and his many contributions to public education.  A $1000 scholarship will be offered to each successful candidate on a one-year basis.  Deadline to apply is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 14, 2020.



Lucy Harth Smith – Atwood S. Wilson Award for Civil and Human Rights in Education - This award is given annually to an individual or group working in Kentucky in support of human and civil rights in education.  The Smith-Wilson Award winner will be recognized at the KEA Delegate Assembly in April 2020. Nominations are submitted to the KEA Diversity Committee, which selects the winner.  Deadline for nominations is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Wednesday, January 15, 2020.

Teacher of the Year -  KEA takes pride in recognizing the many accomplishments of its members.  Each year, KEA selects a Teacher of the Year who is recognized in front of his or her peers at the KEA Delegate Assembly in April.  The winner receives $1000 and a commemorative item.  The KEA Teacher of the Year is also submitted to NEA as a nominee for the NEA Teacher of the Year.  If you know a teacher who represents excellence in the profession, encourage him or her to apply.  Deadline is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 14, 2020.

ESP of the Year - KEA is proud to count Education Support Professionals among its members.  Each year, KEA selects an ESP of the Year, granting the award to someone who shows dedication to their profession and to public education.  If you know an ESP who exemplifies excellence in the profession, encourage him or her to apply.  KEA's ESP of the Year will receive $1000 and a commemorative item, and will be submitted to NEA to be considered for the NEA ESP of the Year award.  Deadline is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 14, 2020.


KEA Aspiring Educator chapters - CREATE Grant - Deadline has passed. No additional applications will be accepted.

Read Across America Grant  - The 2019-20 grant application deadline has passed.  No additional applications will be accepted.

California Casualty Keep on Course - Jeep Compass Giveaway - One lucky member will win a Jeep Compass or $25,000 - Deadline is October 4, 2020. 

California Casualty Academic Award - California Casualty is giving away $2,500 to one lucky educator to purchase classroom supplies. Enter today for your chance to win!


Lesson Plan Contest - KEA believes that diversity in the classroom is important for students of all races, and that understanding people from other cultures builds a strong social foundation for our country.  Each year, the KEA Diversity Committee sponsors a contest to select four lesson plans that emphasize diversity and present the concept to students in age-appropriate and engaging ways.  Do you have a great lesson plan that you want to share?  Submit the details of your lesson plan here. Lesson plans will be assessed based on this rubric.  Four individual winners will each receive $200 and will be recognized at the KEA DA in April.  Deadline to submit lesson plans for the 2019-20 year is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 14, 2020.

ESP Diversity Project: The ESP Diversity Project contest encourages ESPs to create a bulletin board or other project at their worksite with the theme “Diversity is…”  All KEA ESP members are invited to participate.  Submissions can be by individuals or by teams. Projects will be judged by the KEA Diversity Committee.  Two winners will receive $100 each, which will be awarded at the KEA Delegate Assembly in Louisville in April 2020.  If possible, the winning projects (or photos of the projects) will be displayed at the KEA DA. Deadline for submission is 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, February 14, 2020. 

#DifferenceMakers 2019-20 Student Art Contest:  Show us how talented your students are!  Have your students each submit an 8 1/2 X 11 portrait of the educator who has made a difference to them.  Submit your #DifferenceMakers portrait and this signed form to KEA by 5:00 p.m. eastern on Friday, January 17, 2020. One winner in each grade span (P-2; 3-5; 6-8; 9-12) will be selected.  The winning students and their teachers will each win $50!  All submissions must be received  at KEA, 401 Capitol Avenue, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 by 5:00 p.m. eastern, Friday, January 17, 2020. Artwork will be displayed at the 2020 KEA Delegate Assembly; winning submissions will be published in the KEA News.