KEA member Cayeann Cowan receives first NKEA Teacher of the Year Award
Tags: News 

Congratulations, Cayeann!  Cayanne Cowan, who teaches 8th Grade Math at Sharp Middle School in Pendleton County received the very first NKEA Teacher of the Year Award on Thursday, February 28. Louise Steidel, from the NKEA (Northern Kentucky Education Association) Board of Directors, a KEA-Retired Member who serves on the NKEA Teacher of the Year Committee, presented the award. Cayeann received a personalized glass trophy, a $500 check, and a plaque engraved with her name that will remain in the KEA-Northern Kentucky Office in Hebron and will also contain the name of future winners. Kerry Stephenson, who nominated Cayeann will also receive a check from NKEA for $100.

Cayanne's application be forwarded to KEA to be entered into the KEA Teacher of the Year competition.  The winner of of that competition will be announced at the KEA Delegate Assembly this April and the winner at KEA will compete at the national level for the NEA Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence.