Holly Bloodworth named 2014 Kentucky Teacher of the Year
Tags: News 

A 3rd-grade teacher and KEA member at Murray Elementary School in the Murray Independent school district, Holly Bloodworth, is the 2014 Kentucky Teacher of the Year.

Ashland Inc. and the Kentucky Department of Education made the announcement at a ceremony held at the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort. Governor Steve Beshear; Commissioner of Education Terry Holliday; and Ashland Chairman and CEO Jim O’Brien were on hand to make the presentation. 

Melanie Trowel, a science teacher at Carter G. Woodson Academy in Fayette County, is the 
2014 Middle School Teacher of the Year. Joanna Howerton Stevens, a mathematics teacher at 
Lincoln County High School in the Lincoln County school district, is the High School Teacher of the Year. Both are also members of KEA.

The three joined 21 other teachers from across the state honored with 2014 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards.